Bass Clarinet and other things.

It’s been a long time since I wrote the blog… apologies to my few subscribers… but it’s been a busy time.  Our quintet tour got cancelled, then it happened again in Easter, my Klezmer band got a gig in the Freud Museum (finally an audience that enjoyed a hora) and every member of my quintet was awarded an A* (High 1st) in our chamber music exam.  My clarinet teacher gave me the personality assessment that no counsellor has managed so accurately, finally he broke me down – in the nicest possible way – to make me see my full potential.  Needless to say I’ve been focusing on my studies much better since.

The biggest news in my life (in my opinion) is finally the arrival of a bass clarinet!  Last week I went to Howarth’s of London with the intention of buying a new clarinet mouthpiece.  But being me, I couldn’t quite resist trying out the new Buffet bass clarinet model Tosca, and I walked out with a new mouthpiece, a C clarinet and a bass clarinet on approval…

Now I would feel a bit sheepish about spoiling myself with a silly amount of pricey new instruments that fall way beyond my budget.  But this has been something that I have been talking about for over a year, and I knew that the day would come where I would have to borrow lots of money from my family to fund the instrument that is right for me.  And boy did I know in the first five minutes that this was going to be MY instrument!  The moment I played it I knew… This was the one for me.  So today I go excitedly to the music shop to pay for it.  What a painful transaction that is going to be.  But absolutely worth it.

Now I don’t have a name for the bass yet, but I’m pretty certain it’s a she.  😉

Leave a Reply

